Home / Rest and Holidays / Religion / WHAT is the eight-pointed star

WHAT is the eight-pointed star


Eight-pointed star is one of the symbols of Islam</a>

The eight-pointed star is a symbol that existed in many different cultures.

It was used by the Babylonians, Christians, Egyptians, agnostics, Hindus, Buddhists.

It can be seen on national flags and in religious iconography.

Depending on the culture that gave birth to it,An eight-pointed star can have a different meaning. The symbol is closely related to the figure eight. The number eight is present in the teachings of the Buddha, as a noble eightfold path. In Chinese culture, there are eight immortal gods. The universal value of the figure eight is balance, harmony and cosmic order.
The symbol embodies the notation for stars inEarly astronomy, and man's attempts to present the cosmic order and unity that are present in the creation of the world. It is simultaneously a religious, astronomical and mystical sign.

Symbolism of Ancient Babylon

The ancient Babylonians had an eight-pointed starSymbol of the goddess Ishtar, who was also associated with the planet Venus. Ishtar is often compared to the Greek goddess Aphrodite or Roman Venus. All these goddesses personified love and attraction, but Ishtar also patronized fertility and war.

Judeo-Christian tradition

The number eight is often associated with the Jews withInitiation, resurrection, salvation and abundance. This is due to the fact that the seven symbolizes the completion. For example, the eighth day is the beginning of a new week. And, observing the covenant of God, the Jewish child passes through circumcision on the eighth day.

Eight Egyptian gods

Egyptians of the ancient kingdom revered a group ofEight deities, four goddesses and four gods. Each divine couple was an original force or substance, and together they created the world. This eight of the gods served as an example borrowed by other cultures, which, in turn, depicted it in the form of an octagonal star.

Star Lakshmi

In Hinduism, the goddess of wealth of Lakshmi is surroundedA halo of eight rays. They are represented by two squares, superimposed on each other and forming a star. These rays are eight kinds of wealth, namely: money, the ability to overcome distances, endless prosperity, victory, patience, health and nutrition, knowledge and family.

Intersecting squares

When you meet two superimposed on each otherSquare, this symbol often emphasizes duality: yin and yang, female and male, spiritual and material. Squares often indicate physical phenomena: four elements, compass directions.

Star of Chaos

The star of chaos is a star with eightOutgoing from the center of the rays. The symbol was invented by the English science fiction writer Michael Moorcock to refer to chaos. Despite the literary origin of the symbol, it can often be seen in a variety of contexts, from magic to religion.

Symbolism of Buddhism

In Buddhism the eight-pointed star is inscribed in the symbolThe wheel of dharma. In turn, the wheel symbolizes the Buddha's teaching about the eight virtues, as an opportunity to get rid of attachments and associated suffering. These virtues are the right view, the right intention, the right speech, the right behavior, the right way of life, the right effort, the right mindfulness and the right concentration.

WHAT is the eight-pointed star Was last modified: June 21st, 2017 By Luszouwn
It is main inner container footer text