WHAT science called natural
What to say at the interview

Which countries belong to NATO

Which countries are members of NATO

NATO - a military alliance of the interstate, which was established after the signing of the North Atlantic Treaty of the founding countries in 1949.

In different periods of the existence of this organization to join her and other countries, and today their number reached 28.

In 1949 The North Atlantic Treaty, which became the starting document for the NATO base, signed by 12 founding members: Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, United Kingdom of Great Britain and the United States. Later in the unit were: Greece and Turkey (1952), Germany (1955), Spain (1982), the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland (1999), Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia and Slovenia (2004) and Albania and Croatia (2009).

In Iceland at the time of entry into the NATO armed forces lacked structure. Although the principles of the organization, Iceland still has not found it necessary to create an army.

How to join NATO

In Article 10 of the North Atlantic TreatyIt says that the unit can start any European country, provided that the terms of the contract will follow and contribute to security in the North Atlantic region. The decision whether to invite a country adopts the North Atlantic Council - a policy body of the organization - in case of a consensus among NATO member countries. At the moment, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Montenegro and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia expressed their desire to join the North Atlantic bloc.

France - the only country that has refused to participate in NATO's Nuclear Planning Group.

Action Plan for NATO membership

for the preparation of the Action Plan for NATO membership orIDA was put into operation in April 1999 at the Alliance's summit in Washington. It is designed to help prepare countries wishing to join NATO. To this end, NATO is working on an individual basis of the annual program of necessary measures relating to political, economic, defense, industrial, military and legal aspects of national life. The preparation process includes active cooperation with NATO member country to apply for a place chlenstvo- regular meetings. Particular attention is paid to the defense system in the country- if necessary, make proposals for the reform of military structures and revision purposes. Participation in the program helped prepare the seven countries that joined NATO in 2004 (Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia) and in 2009 (Albania and Croatia), to organize the work in all spheres of the country after end of the Cold war. The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia is preparing for entry according to the provided plan.

Comments are closed.