Home / Rest and Holidays / Recreation places / Where are the Carpathians

Where are the Carpathians


The Carpathians are the largest mountain system in Europe. It is located in the heart of the continent and originates in the north near the capital of Slovakia, Bratislava, and ends in the south in Romania in the valley of the Iron Gate.

Where are the Carpathians
The length of the Carpathian Mountains is about1500 kilometers. They arc a large part of the Central European lowland. The width of the Carpathians varies and is 240 kilometers in the northwest, 340 kilometers in the south-west and about 100 in the north-east.

According to its geographical location, the CarpathiansAre divided into three parts: Western, Southern and Eastern. The Western Carpathians are located in the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Poland and Hungary. It is in Hungary is the highest point of the Carpathians - Mount Gerlach, whose peak rises at an altitude of 2,655 meters above sea level. The Southern Carpathians are completely located on the territory of Romania, and most of the Eastern Carpathians are located in Ukraine.

Western Carpathians

Western Carpathians are the most extendedPart of the Carpathian Mountains. Their length exceeds 400 kilometers, and the average width is about 200 kilometers. Western Carpathians consist of several ridges and mountain ranges, which stretch from west to east. For these mountains characterized alpine peaks form and a plurality of mountain lakes.

The northern part of the mountains is formed by the ridges of the Western Bethides. The central part of the Western Carpathians consists mainly of highland massifs, while the southern part is formed by medium-altitude mountain ranges.

Eastern Carpathians

The Eastern Carpathians are almost entirely located on theTerritory of Ukraine, therefore they are often called the Ukrainian Carpathians. Within Ukraine they are divided into three parts: internal, central and external. The mountains are located on the territory of four Ukrainian regions: Chernivtsi, Lviv, Ivano-Frankivsk and Transcarpathian.

In Ukraine, the Carpathians are conditionally divided into twoRegion: Carpathian and Transcarpathian regions. Prykarpattya includes mountains located in Chernivtsi and Ivano-Frankivsk regions, and to Transcarpathia - in the Transcarpathian region.

The highest point of the Ukrainian Carpathians is Mount Goverla, whose height is 2061 meters. The mountain is located not far from the villages Yablunitsa and Yasinya on the border of Chernivtsi and Ivano-Frankivsk regions.

Southern Carpathians

The Southern Carpathians are completely located on theThe territory of Romania and represent the extreme southern part of the mountains. Often this array is called the Transylvanian Carpathians. The length of the ridge is about 300 kilometers. The Southern Carpathians cover five Romanian historical regions: Wallachia, Oltenia, Banat, Muntenia and Transylvania.

This part of the Carpathian Mountains is the highest and most earthquake-prone.

Where are the Carpathians Was last modified: July 5th, 2017 By Dahnaipb
It is main inner container footer text