Home / Rest and Holidays / Other / HOW MUCH in Russia cities

HOW MUCH in Russia cities


How many cities in Russia</a>

Russia is the world's largest state with a total area of ​​17.125 million square kilometers and the population, according to the estimate of 2014, 142.666 million people.

The capital of Russia is Moscow, the largest cities of the country also include St. Petersburg, Novosibirsk, Samara, Tyumen, Yekaterinburg and others.

What is the total number of Russian cities?

As of January 1, 2013, there was in Russia1097 settlements with the status of the city. This number is three times less than in 2010, because due to the increase in the territory of the capital and Moscow's absorption of Moscow, Shcherbinka and Troitsk, the number has decreased from the previous 1100.
The territory of the Russian Federation, except for the divisionOn individual subjects, autonomous regions, republics, regions and regions, is also divided into federal districts. There are eight of them in the country - the Far East, Volga, North-Western, North-Caucasian, Siberian, Urals, Central and Southern.
The leader in the number of cities isCentral Federal District. On its territory are 307 cities. Moreover, 2 of them have the status of multi-millionaires, 3 are considered to be the largest (with a population of 500 thousand people and up to a million), 12 - large (250-500 thousand inhabitants), 27 - large (100-250 thousand people) 37 - medium (50-100 thousand people). The remaining 226 settlements are small towns with a population of up to 50 thousand people.

Millionaires of Russia

In total there are 15 millionaires in Russia. The leader of the country in terms of the number of millionaires is Privolzhsky Federal District. There are five such cities in it. The other million cities are distributed in the country in this way: one in the North-West District, three in the Siberian District, and two in the Urals, South and Central.
Some cities from this list lost theirLoud status. In particular, the city of Volgograd until 1999 was not a millionaire, from 2002 to 2005 he was to them, the third time the status of a city with a million population, he acquired in 2010. Krasnoyarsk could become a millionaire again only in 2012, as well as the city of Voronezh. Perm was a city with a million inhabitants until 2004. The lost status could be restored to this city only in 2012.

The largest Russian cities

According to an assessment conducted on January 1, 2013, there were 15 cities in the Russian Federation with the status of "millionaire":
- Moscow (almost 11.989 million inhabitants) -
- St. Petersburg (slightly more than 5 million people) -
- Novosibirsk (1.5 million) -
- Ekaterinburg (1.4 million) -
- Nizhny Novgorod (1.25 million) -
- Kazan (1.18 million) -
- Samara (1.17 million) -
- Omsk (1.16 million) -
- Chelyabinsk (1, 15 million) -
- Rostov-on-Don (1.1 million) -
- Ufa (1.07 million) -
- Volgograd (1, 01 million) -
- Krasnoyarsk (1, 01 million) -
- Perm (1.01 million) -
- Voronezh (1 million).
Compared with earlier data for 2012,In this list, the following changes occurred. Kazan overtook the population of Samara (on January 1, 2012 in the capital of Tatarstan lived 1.161 million people, and in Samara - 1.169 million).

HOW MUCH in Russia cities Was last modified: May 21st, 2017 By Huwpiyjp
It is main inner container footer text